Traffic Safety Bureau

Sergeant, Traffic Bureau
(908) 617-4811
Traffic Officer
(908) 235-3002
Traffic Officer
(908) 533-9197

This Bureau provides assistance in traffic-related issues to the governing body, conducts investigations into serious motor vehicle collisions, and assists the Engineering Department with the proper placement of signs and signals. The traffic bureau also assists citizens with traffic-related complaints (speeding etc.) that occur within the township and assists residents with child car seat installations.

Bicycle Safety Laws

Do you know the current bicycle helmet and other safety laws? Visit the State's Bicycle Safety webpage.

Montgomery Township Police Child Passenger Safety

The Montgomery Township Police Department will conduct child safety seat or booster seat checks upon request at the Police Department, free of charge. To schedule an individual appointment at the Police Department, call 908-874-3333. The child safety seats will be inspected by certified child safety seat technicians. Please call Sgt. Sean Sullivan at (908) 617-4811 or Officer Tim Giaccone at (908) 533-9197 for more information.

In addition, Somerset County also offers car seat installation inspections at the following times throughout the year:

Somerset County Child Safety Seat Station
Hillsborough Volunteer Fire Company #2,
375 Route 206 Hillsborough Township
Hours: 10am – 1:30pm, 1st Saturday of each month
Hours: 3pm – 6pm, 3rd Wednesday of each month
No appointment needed
Phone: 908-725-1900 ext. 688

New Jersey’s child passenger safety law requires:

  • Children under 8 years of age who weigh less than 80 pounds to ride properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no rear seat, the child may sit in the front seat, but s/he must be secured by a child safety seat or booster seat. Note: A rear-facing infant seat should never be placed in a front seat with a passenger-side airbag unless the vehicle is equipped with an airbag on/off switch. For more information about child safety seats and airbags consult Advisory on Airbags and Passenger Sensing Systems.)
  • Children under 8 years of age who weigh more than 80 pounds to ride properly secured in a seat belt. Passengers 8 to 18 years of age (regardless of weight) ride properly secured in a seat belt. Please go to the attached link to the State of New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety for further questions concerning child passenger safety laws and rules:

Community Center

Otto Kaufman
356 Skillman Road
Skillman, NJ 08558
(609) 466-3023

Main Offices


Emergency: Dial 911
Non-Emergency: (908) 359-3222